SUMMER CLEANUP: "You woke the baby!" – "Star Wars: The Clone Wars" Review

“Star Wars: The Clone Wars”
2008
*** out of ****
Director: Dave Filoni
Cast: Matt Lanter, Ashley Eckstein, James Arnold Taylor

Ever since the release of “Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace,” people started to think that it was cool to hate “Star Wars.” Despite the casting of Jake “Yippee” Lloyd and the new character Jar Jar Binks, I don’t think I ever had that big of a problem with “Episode I.” It has one of the best lightsaber fights in the series, and the pod-chase is freaking awesome. “Attack of the Clones” improved the series a little bit, but not enough for hardcore fans to really get into the films.

After “Episode III: Revenge of the Sith,” it was suddenly normal to like “Star Wars” again. George Lucas provided a proper ending to one of the greatest stories ever told on film, and completely forgot about Jar Jar Binks. But in between “Episode II” and “III,” a certain event occurred – “The Clone Wars.” At the end of “II,” the Clone Wars began, and at the beginning of the third film, the Clone Wars ended. So fans began wondering, just what happened in that period of time?

The new “Star Wars” film, “Star Wars: The Clone Wars,” provided a little part of the explanation as to what has happened. Sure, there was a lot more that went on in the Clone Wars than what was provided, but it is a start. The film is really one big prequel to the TV show coming to Cartoon Network this October, and believe me when I say that “Star Wars: The Clone Wars” really isn’t as bad as some critics make it out to be. I mean, if you like Jar Jar, you should like this movie at least.

The simple plot of this film is that while fighting the Clone Wars, the Galactic Republic decides that while the Separatists try to gain as many government systems as possible, they would try to get the support of Jabba the Hutt. The way that they could make it possible is if they could return Jabba’s kidnapped baby to him. Anakin and his new Padawan Ahsoka try to return the baby in the hands while Obi-Wan makes sure that the clone army wins the battle against the dark side.

I would be the first one to admit that if you are not a “Star Wars” fan or if you’re not a ten year old boy, there is very little reason to like the movie. I knew that when I walked into the theater. I expected a dumbed-down version of “Star Wars,” but I expected to have fun. Shoot, I brought my lightsaber with me to the movie and expected to challenge some asshole in the movie theater that whipped out a cell-phone to a lightsaber duel. But with all kidding aside, this was the first time I ever saw a “Star Wars” film in the theater, and I wanted to make sure that I had a great experience. I came out of the film like I just lost my virginity.

In this new adventure, the action never stops. Many people have been calling this a problem, but I call it an achievement. Sure, the film lacks character development, but aside from one character, there is no need for development, because we all know who they are by now. That being said, when we get to meet the new character named Ahsoka, we meet her on the wrong foot. Not only is she annoying (unintentionally, I think), but she acts like she took massive doses of speed and coke. It’s something that they should work on come TV time.

The animation isn’t as bad as what some people has said it is. It isn’t going to beat “Wall-E” for the Best Animated Film this year, but at least it is going to lose the race as the worst animated film to “Space Chimps.” The animation really needs to give thanks to some great Anime. At times it comes off childish, but it has the moments for the hardcore fans. I can tell that they really went out for this film. It isn’t animated just because it is going to be a cartoon. It’s animated because you can’t do this kind of shit in live action.

And like all of the other “Star Wars” films, the script is the worst part about the film. It’s not surprising that it is terrible. I’m kind of used to it by now. When Anakin isn’t exclaiming the word “Yippee!,” we’re stuck with listening to Anakin being called “Skyguy” and Jabba the Hutt’s son being called “Stinky” by Ahsoka. I don’t care how good of a universe that Lucas has created. If there isn’t great dialogue to back the story up, you really have a problem on your hands. Until the prequels, no one recognized it. Now it is so blatantly obvious that the series needs a better screenwriter that if we don’t act soon our children will stop watching “Star Wars” and go back to watching Nickelodeon.

“Star Wars: The Clone Wars” really isn’t the most impressive film of 2008, but it is a fun film nonetheless. After watching the movie, I can finally approve of a cartoon television show.

Leave a comment